Tweets

Colorado Rights Blog

Videos

  • Executive Director Nathan Woodliff-Stanley spoke at the marriage equality rally on March 3rd

  • Leisel Kemp, whose brother Jason was killed by CSP after they entered his home without a warrant, spoke at the 2013 Bill of Rights Dinner about the ACLU’s legal advocacy on behalf of her family.

  • Out of Sight, Out of Mind is an original short film from the ACLU of Colorado about a man who has spent 17 years in solitary confinement and now suffers from debilitating mental illness.

Phone bank for

Voting is one of our most basic rights, but it’s meaningless if we don’t take the time to make our voices heard. 
Help us remind people in Lakewood to vote this November and let them know about the Vehicle Impound ballot initiative they’ll be voting on. This misguided initiative would require police officers to impound the vehicles of anyone driving without license or registration, even if the driver simply forgot those items at home. It would cost drivers $2700 to retrieve their cars from the city impound lots. The ACLU of Colorado is part of the Coloradans for Safe Communities coalition that opposes this initiative because it will encourage racial profiling, eliminate due process protections, and waste public resources. Last year Denver voters defeated an almost identical proposal, Initiative 300, which by nearly a 3-1 margin.
Read more about this dangerous ballot initiative on the Coloradans for Safe Communities website.
RSVP to Emma Dubach Donahue, 303.863.2400
This phone bank and all other “No on Impound” Phone Banks will be held at:
SEIU Local 105
2525 W. Alameda Avenue
Denver, Colorado 80219
Google maps
Here’s the full list of phone bank and canvas dates:
Wednesday, Sept 1, 5:30pm-8:30pm
Wednesday, Sept 8, 5:30pm-8:30pm
Wednesday, Sept 15, 5:30pm-8:30pm
Wednesday, Sept 22, 5:30pm-8:30pm
Wednesday, Sept 26 Canvass Day in Lakewood (door-knocking), 10am-2pm
Wednesday, Sept 29, 5:30pm-8:30pm
Wednesday, Oct 6, 5:30pm-8:30pm
Monday, Oct 11 – Sponsored by 9to5, 5:30pm-8:30pm
Tuesday, Oct 19, 5:30pm-8:30pm
Wednesday, Oct 27, 5:30pm-8:30pm
Monday, Nov 1, 5:30pm-8:30pm





Return to Events